Keep going, keep growing

sunflowers

San Diego sunflower fields in full bloom. (Photo by Jayla Lee)

Just as the San Diego sunflowers bloom, so will our ideas when the time is right. I realized this last week when I submitted my canvas to Dr. Schmitz Weiss. A canvas is a tool allowing entrepreneurs to map their business ideas. The map provides a foundation to strategize, organize, and see the bigger picture. Categories include:

  • Customer segments
  • Value Propositions
  • Channels
  • Customer relationships
  • Revenue streams
  • Key resources
  • Key Activities
  • Key Partnerships
  • Cost structure

I highly recommend our class textbook Business Model Generation by Alexander Osterwalder and Yves Pigneur for those interested in the canvas tool. You can even snag a printable version on its website. Here’s mine:
canvas-draft

 

It almost reminds me of the sunflowers, blooming with ideas off the page. What’s next? Interviews. I am excited to attend a parent discussion next month about raising children in the digital age. I will report my findings here — and hopefully have an improved canvas ready to roll.

Leave a Reply

