Spring cleaning

flowers

Sacramento flowers in full bloom. (Photo by Jayla Lee)

Last week, I went home for spring break to the beautiful city of Sacramento. By stepping away from my normal environment on campus, I was able to gain some fresh perspectives on my project and do a little spring cleaning on my canvas. I realized my heart was set on creating a Parents Online YouTube channel because it was my favorite social media platform. I’ve found most of my entrepreneurial inspiration from YouTubers including lifestyle vloggers Lavendaire, Ingrid Nilsen, and Sarah Nourse. While I wish to carry their bright and personable energy over to Parents Online, I decided to put my YouTube dreams on hold and consider podcasts, instead. According to Pew Research Center’s “State of the News Media 2016,” the percentage of Americans who have listened to podcasts in the past month has increased steadily since 2013. Additionally, about one in five U.S. adults reported listening to some kind of podcast in the last month.

I recently read Entrepreneur’s “6 Tips for How to Build Your Startup’s Brand From Scratch” per Dr. Schmitz Weiss’ selected course readings. The first step is to identify your target market. By doing so, you must also find out what they like and what they need. It makes sense to start a Parents Online podcast after realizing this is where most adults spend their time. Perhaps, YouTube will find a way into my plan in the future. But for now, my priority is serving my target audience in the best way possible.

2 thoughts on “Spring cleaning

  1. Good – this is a smart approach. Be where your audience is. You can always extend to other platforms in time – but start with the podcasting platform first can be a good strategy. get to it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

